A brief history of the Halifax / Atlantic province ASHRAE chapter (Chapter #100) 



In 1964 a group of Engineers, manufacturers representatives, and other industry related people got together to discuss a possible ASHRAE Chapter. Bill Chaffey was appointed chair of the Steering committee. Murray Malloy, of the Montreal Chapter, greatly helped Bill Chaffey with the ground work.

Charter Night was held at the Citadel Inn on March 15, 1965. Bill Chaffey chaired the meeting. Distinguished visitors attending the meeting were:

  • John Dube National President 

  • John Ross National Treasurer 

  • Andrew Boggs Associate Secretary and Publisher of ASHRAE 

  • Bal Horsbough Director Region II 

  • Wilf Woodcoch VP Ontario Chapter 

  • Hayward Murray PD Montreal Chapter 

  • Murray Malloy PP Montreal Chapter 

  • Frank L’Anglais PP Quebec Chapter

  • Bill Hole PP Montreal 

  • Philip Dumaresq VP Nova Scotia Architects Association 

  • Hank Rounsefell Present Halifax-Dartmouth Construction Association 

  • Philip Vaughn President Association of Professional Engineers of NS 

Bill Hole, introduced the following as the executive of the 11th Chapter in Canada:

  • President Leslie Single 

  • 1st VP Bill Chaffey 

  • 2nd VP Gordon Weld 

  • Sect Treasurer John Perkins 

  • Board of Governors 

  • William Chaddock 

  • Denis Morris 

  • Richard Fisher 

  • George Hagen 

Denis Morris, Chairman of the Membership Committee gave a report stating the chapter had 36 paid up members and 12 paid up members outside of Halifax. In addition there were another 20 applicants in the system.


In the late 1960’s a sub chapter, the Moncton Chapter, was formed. In 1970 the Atlantic Provinces Chapter became the Halifax Chapter. The Halifax Chapter Sponsored the New Brunswick Chapter operating out of Moncton N.B. Charter Night was the 13th Oct 1972. The Halifax Chapter now became responsible for Newfoundland and Nova Scotia.


Over the years Halifax hosted several special events. One of the greatest events hosted by the Chapter was the Societies Annual Meeting held in June of 1977. Approximately 850 delegates attended making it the largest annual meeting at that time.  

  • 1969 Chapter Regional Conference - Chairperson, Jim A MacLean

  • 1977 Societies Annual Meeting - Chairperson, John Perkins and Ken Bell

  • 1982 Chapter Regional Conference - Chairperson, John Waldron

  • 1992 Chapter Regional Conference - Chairpersons, Paul Conrad and Gerard Doyle

  • 2001 Chapter Regional Conference - Chairperson, Ken Bell

  • 2010 Chapter Regional Conference - Chairperson, Jim Tse


The Chapter held many social events. The golf tournament was first held in 1966 at Old Ashburn with 19 people in attendance. Today about 150 people participate annually. Dances were held with attendance sometimes reaching a hundred guests.


Halifax meetings over the years included topics that are much in vogue today such as “Wind Power”and “Tidal Power”. Halifax had one of North Americas earliest centrifugal chillers installed at Moirs Chocolate Factory in 1928. Purdy’s Wharf Office Complex was the first in North America to use harbor water as the source of energy for a heat pump.


The Presidents and dates served are as follows: 
1965-66 Les Single 
1966-67 Gordon Weld 
1967-68 Denis Morris, Sr. 
1968-69 Richard Fisher 
1969-70 John Perkins 
1970-71 James A MacLean 
1971-72 Ken Bell 
1972-73 James Scriven 
1973-74 John Waldron 
1974-75 James L MacLean 
1975-76 Alexander Hendry 
1976-77 Paul Conrad 
1977-78 Lloyd Schofield 
1978-79 Ronald Roberts 
1979-80 Rod Hartlen 
1980-81 James Lothian 
1981-82 Gary Brown 
1982-83 Jim Moar 
1983-84 William Maddock 
1984-85 M Gerard Doyle 
1985-86 Laurie Conrad 
1986-87 Michael Kerman 
1987-88 Gary Scott 
1988-89 Victor Belliveau 
1989-90 Harinder Singh 
1990-91 Doug Rafuse 
1991-92 Elmer Spencer 
1992-93 Robert Kelly 
1993-94 Paul Aucoin 
1994-95 Denis Morris, Jr. 
1995-96 Terry Phalen 
1996-97 Peter Healy 
1997-98 Scott Starratt 
1998-99 Ann Hope 
1999-00 Peter Melnyk 
2000-01 Peter Scriven 
2001-02 Wayne Chaisson 
2002-03 Paul Dyer 
2003-04 David Forbrigger 
2004-05 Art Irwin 
2005-06 Trent Moore 
2006-07 Steven Ramsay 
2007-08 Gary LeBlanc 
2008-09 Jim Tse 
2009-10 Tom Lechpammer 

2010-11 Conrad LeLievre

2011-12 Jeff MacNeil

2012-13 Mark Lawrence

2013-14 Darrell Amirault

2014-15 Aaron Smith

2015-16 Aaron Smith

2016-17 Chris Theriault

2017-18 Dan Egilsson

2018-19 Dan Egilsson

The Halifax Chapter has had two teams or father/son Presidents with Denis Morris Sr, and Jr. and Jim and Peter Scriven serving.


The following Chapter members have been honored with Society Awards:


Paul Conrad, Life Member

- 1986 Regional Award of Merit

- 1991 Distinguished Service Award


Gordon Weld, Life Member

- 1986 Fellow

- 1998 Distinguished Service Award


George Buckler

- 1987 Regional Award of Merit

- 1988 Distinguished Service Award


James A Scriven (Sr), Life Member

- 1989 Fellow


Gerard Doyle

- 1990 Regional Award of Merit


Denis J Morris (Sr), Life Member

- 1991 Fellow


Troy Green

- 1997 Student Design Project Competition Award


Haringer Singh

- 2000 Regional Award of Merit


Kenneth Bell, Life Member

- 2002 Regional Award of Merit


Arthur Irwin, Life Member

- 2009 Chapter Service Award

- 2019 Fellow


Jim Tse

- 2015 Chapter Service Award


Mark Lawrence

- 2015 Chapter Service Award


Conrad Lelievre

- 2015 Chapter Service Award


James Scriven

- 2016 Distinguished Fifty-Year Member Award 


Gordon Weld

- 2016 Distinguished Fifty-Year Member Award 


Denis J. Morris 

- 2016 Distinguished Fifty-Year Member Award 




William Ahern

Kenneth Bell

Edward Brown

Paul Conrad

Kenneth Elliott

Wayne Fisher

Alexander Hendry

Arthur Irwin

Mustafa Kantarcioglu

Claude Levesque

William McNamara

Denis J. Morris

Jan Nitsch

James Scriven

Benjamin Smith

Allison Tupper

Donald Warner

Gordon Weld




If you have anything you would like to contribute to the Chapter History whether it be information, pictures, stories, corrections, etc., please contact us.

The information contained here is shown to the best of the author’s knowledge and may contain errors.

History Developed by:
Ken Bell – Past President
Steven Ramsay – Past President
Peter Scriven – Past President
Tom Lechpammer - Past President

Mark Lawrence - Past President

Aaron Smith - Past President


This web site is maintained by the Halifax Chapter of ASHRAE. It does not present official positions of the Society nor reflect Society policy.

ASHRAE chapters may not act for the Society and the information presented here has not had Society review.

To learn more about ASHRAE activities on an international level, visit the ASHRAE home page at http://ashrae.org

Contact the ASHRAE Halifax Chapter at ashrae.halifax@gmail.com